Why I Otter…

I decided to post about one of my favorite childhood treats…Otter Pops!


I loved these damn things as a kid! They were the greatest treat my mom could possibly give us. There was always a box of Otter pops in our freezer! And summers were never complete without Otter Pops! The best thing about them were the crazy names they had. Let’s examine!


Alexander the Grape! They decided to use the name of a Greek king for this one. I love the toga and what I guess is supposed to be the strappy sandals, but what looks more like an unfortunate toilet paper incident. The beauty of this is that as a kid I had no idea who Alexander the Great was so, to me this was just some clever name and fancy costuming! Pure genius!


Now, we move on to Little Orphan Orange. Now, with this one they decided to not even try to rhyme to the original name of Little Orphan Annie, but went ahead with just using the ‘O’ to make this work. Again, as a kid, I had no idea what an orphan was and hadn’t even seen Annie yet. But this orange otter was like the little sister in the bunch to me because she just seemed like the young kid hanging around.


On to one of my faves: Louie-Bloo Rasberry! Not only was blue my favorite flavor, but I loved this guy. He looked like some suave french gigolo. I didn’t understand the romanticised idea of the ‘french lover’ back then, but this guy so reminded me of Pepe Le Pew that he just rocked!


Now, we come to our little south of the border friend Poncho Punch. The guy is just such a pimp; the boots, the poncho, the hat. I can just hear the Speedy Gonzalez scream of “Arriba, Arriba” in my head! The best part of his ensemble is that his boots have spurs! I wonder if those spurs that jingle-jangle-jingle?! There’s nothing else that can be said about this guy because he’s just all around cool!

Strawberry Short Kook! I always wondered why she was a kook. I mean she clearly has the crazy eyes, but I was expecting a straitjacket or something. I mean what the hell other than her polka dot skirt makes her a ‘kook’?? I mean did she play pranks on the other otters?? Was she willing to take on any double dog dare??? I need to know why she was considered the kook???? Mystery of life I guess.


Finally we come to the father figure of the pops, Sir Isaac Lime. He’s a scientific genius! So much so, that he isn’t required to wear clothing like the other less significant otters. He’s the Papa Smurf of the otters. He comes around with words of wisdom to solve all problems. There’s nothing Sir Isaac can’t do!

I was at the store and came across some generic frozen pops and it reminded me of these so, I decided to do a quick post. Damn, now I’m craving a pop!

8 Responses to Why I Otter…

  1. Mike says:

    Did these things have a shape to them? We didn’t have anything cool like this where I grew up. We had the generic freeze pops without the cool characters. Or, my parents didn’t buy the cool ones.

  2. JoshC says:

    I haven’t even heard of these before,
    But “why I otter” will be the last thing to make me smile on my deathbed.

  3. Galileo says:

    It’s Speedy Gonzales that says “Arriba! Arriba!” not Mighty Mouse.

    Still, fun article on something I’ve never heard of.

  4. DC says:

    Galileo: Thanks, I corrected it. DUH! 🙂 Don’t know where my mind was and totally missed that.

  5. Kittymao says:

    OTTER FUCKIN POPS!
    I always got the Orange one cause she always looked so sad- she was so tiny…

  6. nandango says:

    YUM!!! I still eat otter pops like my life depended on them. Except I throw out the orange and blue ones b/c they make me gag. I was so excited lastnight b/c I pulled out a strip of 7 that didn’t have any blue or orange and ate all of them at once. Good times.

  7. jesseybean says:

    I havent thought of otter pops in years, and here I see 2 in one day. Its a sign for the Lord almighty that I need to go buy them.

  8. DC says:

    I think it is a sign! I was starting to feel like the only Otter Pop fan out there. Good to know there are others! 🙂

Leave a comment