Final Farewell

I’m sure any one coming across my blog now is surprised to see a new post up. Well, this is my final post. It’s curtain call for my blog. I had a good time keeping a blog when I first started, but I can’t keep up with it anymore, as is evident, and so I’m calling it quits. I recently lost one of my best friends who I loved very much and considered a brother. He was the only one of my non internet friends who ever knew I had a blog. So, my final post will also be my final goodbye letter to one of the greatest guys I’ve ever had the privilege of knowing.

Dear Frank,

It still seems like a surreal nightmare that you are no longer here. My heart still aches everyday knowing that I’ll never be able to speak to you again, hang out with you and even laugh with you. I may have not told you so much when you were here, but you were my best friend and my brother. I loved you more than you may have known while here on earth, but that I’m sure you know now that you are in heaven.

I will forever treasure our memories together. From all the late drinking debauchery to the times just hanging out watching movies. I still remember the fun we had the first time we met and how I knew then that we would always be friends. We clicked right away from our similar taste in beer (of course) to our love of football. Without you I may have never traveled to New York, Maryland, Chicago, St. Louis, Canada…etc. You were the one that made even the shortest trips fun. Even when it was watching your Chicago Bears trample all over my St. Louis Rams.

You were always the friend I could call to just come hang out and watch a movie. You were the one that helped motivate me to get to the gym by being my gym buddy. Together we managed to drag ourselves there everyday. Even Saturdays…because we usually rewarded ourselves with a beer afterwards. Our bar, Poor Richards, will never be the same without you. A lot of things won’t be the same without you.

I now sit and go through the pictures I have of us together and remember the fun times. We’re pretty inebriated in them because that was the only way I could get you to take pics. But I’m glad I was able to force some on you because now I have them to look at and reminisce and cry. I’m still doing a lot of crying and as I type this I’m crying now. I know you’re looking down on me and telling me to “man up” (silly) and I will. I just need time to be sad and to be angry that you were taken.

I will do my best to keep your memory alive through the game nights, the football watching, the beer drinking, and the late night Wii play. I will continue to make sure your mom and sister are doing okay as I love them like family too. I know I’ll get through this, it will just be a slow process. Frank, I will never have another friend like you again. And even though our time together wasn’t as long as I wished, I’m forever grateful to have had you in my life. And I know that whenever I fall, as I tend to do, that you will be watching me from above…laughing. Keep an eye out on me up there.

mefrank

Keep a New Castle on ice for me for when we meet again. I love you.

5 Responses to Final Farewell

  1. I am so sorry to hear about your friend. I haven’t checked your blog in awhile and wanted to see if you had any Ram’s thoughts. It is amazing how trivial things are that we worry about in life. I was more worried Sunday night about Tony Romo choking in big games again and turning another year older in a few days. It just doesn’t seem right to lose somebody that young and I cannot imagine what you are going through. I wish I had something wise or profound to say but what can you say. Just keep fighting and things will get better. Cherish the time you spent together and be thankful for the memories. Just so sad.

    I’ll miss you online. You are more than welcome to come visit the new Cowboys stadium. I know you said you’ll never come to Texas but it is so over the top Texas style that you may have to man up and get down here. I would have to take a 2nd mortgage to park and get you drunk on the beer prices. Take care of yourself. I’m sure I’ll send you drunken texts down the road that will piss you off. Stay strong.

  2. Mike says:

    I’m so sorry to hear about your friend. That’s terrible news. I can’t begin to imagine how you are feeling right now. I really hope you are doing well. Just try to remember all the good times you had with your friend Frank. Remember all the fun and how you enjoyed his company.

    I really hope you are doing well. I’m sorry I didn’t see this sooner. I knew you were taking a long break and didn’t catch the update.

    Take care of yourself. Feel free to stop by whenever you want. I miss your comments. Also, I still have the Spidey Tin. 🙂

  3. Amy says:

    Girl! I come here expecting to see the same old Air Force One… Wow, honey, I am so, so sorry to read all of this, and I wish I’d caught up sooner than two months later. 😦 Hope you are doing okay. I lost my best friend once upon a time, so I won’t give you any trite advice. What a beautiful picture of you and Frank… Hang in there, and if you ever get your dial-up issues fixed, stop in and say hi.

  4. Will says:

    I am truly sorry for your loss. This is the part of life I like the least.

  5. DJ D says:

    Wow, I can’t believe I only JUST NOW saw this. Of course, I knew a bit about Frank from conversations we’ve had, but had no idea you’d written this. I was just catching up on my blogs, and by habit I sometimes stop by your place in the small hope that maybe you came out of retirement to write another one. I’m glad to see you did, but hate that this was the reason. I remember how it felt when one of my best friend’s passed away about a year and a half ago. I just try to remember her crazy laugh and all the fun stuff we did.

    Oh, and great pic btw. Up till now I’ve only seen that little avatar one you used and it was so small I couldn’t get a good idea of what you looked like. I think this is my first time I’ve ever “seen” you, and it’s pretty close to what I imagined.

Leave a Reply

