California Is Ablaze

There’s been fires all over California this week and today it got worse. There is one about 20 miles away from me that has caused the city to be engulfed in smoke. Here’s a picture I took earlier. Keep in mind this picture was taken at 2:30 in the afternoon.

1115081538

This picture was taken just a block up from my place. It’s really depressing here. My lungs hurt and my eyes sting from all the smoke. I just hope that everyone who’s near the fires is safe and that this gets taken care of soon.

Update: Here’s what the ground looked like this morning. Yep, that’s ash and it’s everywhere. I’ll have a more upbeat post tomorrow. Today I’m just going to stay in and avoid the smokey air.

11160808033

8 Responses to California Is Ablaze

  1. I hope you the best, DC.

    There was some comedian who said that California goes through its own 4 seasons: Wind, Fire, Rain, Mud.

  2. Amy says:

    ugh, i was wondering how you were doing. that looks and sounds miserable. hang in there!

  3. Hazard says:

    I very much dislike fire now.

  4. braintrust3 says:

    I hate to be the one that tells you this but that is the sun not the forrest fires that we see on tv. The smoke is probably your neighbors getting high on their balcony. Just joking…I hope you and your state are safe and back to normal asap. take care of yourself.

  5. Mike says:

    Yikes! That doesn’t look like fun to be walking around in. Be careful out there!

  6. DC says:

    I’m okay. I’m only close enough to the fires to get all the smoke and ash. There’s so much smoke in the air blocking out the sun that there’s a depressing orange haze today. Hopefully they’ll be contained soon.

  7. gingela5 says:

    I hope everything stays safe there! That’s freaky that it’s that dark at 2:30 in the afternoon!

  8. Annette says:

    People always talk up California, but all I seem to hear about from out there are fires, landslides, earthquakes, and ridiculous housing costs. πŸ˜› Just kidding. I really hope things clear up soon; I can’t imagine having to breathe smoke all day long 😦

Leave a Reply

